It doesn’t get easier, you just get faster

The last 2 days have been amazing! We have been making our way through the Appalachian Mountains in beautiful long stretches.

Our 90 mile ride from Cumberland MD to Parsons WV was truly an experience. I think every part of my physical, mental, and emotional capability was pushed to the brim. Around mile 80 we had climbed just over 8,000 vertical feet when we got caught in a torrential thunderstorm. The storm finally passed and we had an unbelievable 5.5 mile downhill with a 6% grade.

20120623-231156.jpg

Below are a few pictures from the ride.

20120623-231237.jpg

20120623-231258.jpg

20120623-231325.jpg

20120623-231342.jpg

We are just over half way through our 10 day ride bender and are definitely feeling it mentally and physically. We have been so blessed with amazing hosts who provide a smorgasbord of food for dinner.

Tomorrow we are dipping into Ohio and I think we are all in need of some sleep.

Keep us posted on what’s going on and feel free to comment with an address so we can send postcards!

The Boys


5 responses to “It doesn’t get easier, you just get faster

  • Momma lomma

    The pics are great
    Get some sleep and always be safe. Lots of people are following your blog
    keep up the good work. Peddle on my son.

  • Ed Shimp

    Awesome pictures. Enjoy the scenery and hills while you can; before long it will be endless miles of flat cornfields. I suggest singing “100 bottles of beer on the wall” until Jacob goes crazy. Or at the very least, every mile or so ask, “Are we there yet?”

  • Nichole DeMario

    I recently read a feature article about your bike trip on Valpolife.com. I am a writer for Values Magazine. I would love to feature you in an upcoming issue of the magazine. Please contact me at nichole_demario@yahoo.com. I look forward to hearing from you. Safe travels!

  • Grace Boerema

    Cool – did you see the post above re: Values magazine? On Monday, Pete Martin, Rotary Pres asked me “hey, how are you related to the guy in The Voice with the same last name?” I responded: “oh, that’s just my oldest son”. He said “gee, he sounds like a pretty bright guy”. I said “yeah, I agree, he graduated from Purdue etc…” Anyways, continue to have fun and be safe. Lots of people continue to follow you around the world. I forwarded info overseas and got a reply from Herman & Dianne which I forwarded to you. You’ll see “the bosjes”. How cool is that? Family following you overseas on Facebook etc… Hopefully you’ll receive an envelope at tomorrow’s mail drop from us. Springfield is coming up before you know it. Steve and ??? coming to meet up with you? I will be in the July 4th parade with everyone I know who is willing and able to walk with us to collect food and money for our food pantry. XOXO Mom

  • Kelsey Nicholson

    Kyle Frey!!!

    This looks absolutely amazing. I am baffled by all of this and have to say it is all very impressive! Just wanted to drop you a quick little line and let you know how incredible I think this is and wish you both the best of lucky and safety in your bicycle travels.

    Much Love,

    Kelsey

Leave a comment